Contact Us (+94)112667321
Kandy SC, Petes win ‘Cup’ categories at ‘Centenary Sevens’

by Ravi Nagahawatte

Kandy Sports Club produced champagne rugby at the CR&FC ‘Centenary Sevens’ by winning the Cup Championship with a smashing 21 points to 7 win over Havelocks Sports Club in the final worked off at Longden Place on Sunday (April 2).

Kandy SC’s players were all over the park and collected their points through three converted tries; two of which came in the first half. The pick among the players for Kandy SC was skipper Srinath Sooriyabandara who scored once each in both halves. The other try scorer for the winners was Tharinda Ratwatte. Havies’ solitary try came through the efforts of Warnapura.

The final day’s action was blockbuster stuff as St. Peter’s College Bambalapitya smashed the stuffing out of Royal College in the schools Cup Championship final with runway 21 points to nil win. The match-winner for St. Peter’s was Kushan Tharindu who scored once each in both halves. The other try for the winners came off Vishanka Silva.

Isipathana College survived a sudden-death play period before beating Zahira College in the school’s Plate Championship final with a last gasp try by Rinesh Silva. The scores stood 19 all at full time. Vidyartha College Kandy won the Bowl Championship by edging out Wesley 15-14 in a thriller. BWRC Australia won the Women’s rugby sevens beating Army SC 15-7 in the final.

Sri Lanka Rugby President Rizly Illyas commenting on Kandy SC’s win said, “Kandy SC is in a class of their own with much depth in their players and deserved to be the champs at the ‘Centenary Sevens’ tournament. We’re sure had Kandy SC taken part in the SLR conducted ‘Club Sevens’ they would have crowned themselves as Cup Champions. It was a remarkable feature that CR&FC under its President Ted Muttiah showcased a very good tournament which other clubs can take a very good lesson from. Sri Lanka Rugby can have a four-Satellite Sevens Tournament of this magnitude which will be an added impetus for the national team”.